Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I need help knocking down debt so I can get UX certificates and finish college degree
I am a 49-year-old woman who needs to upskill and/or finish my bachelor's degree. The first thing I need and want to do is finish two UX certifications (Google and The New School).

I have been raising my daughter alone since 2000, but now she is settled in her own place with a wonderful boyfriend so now it's ok for me to resume the educational goals I had put on hold in order to be a good mother and earn our living.

I am a technical writer who works on contracts that last anywhere from 6 months to 1 1/2 years on average so I have been stuck in this circle of debt for the last 8 years. Every time I budget myself to live on bare bones and use the rest to clear my debt in just under a year, my contract ends, I'm back on unemployment, have nothing saved, then I rack my credit cards back up to live on between contracts.

I wanted to clear this myself, but now I'm 49 and I do not have much time left to upskill/go back to college and be able to work enough years to justify this.

Not having any certificates or degrees (other than high school) has always put me at the back of the line, with fierce competition. Now after COVID there are so many more qualified, younger people I compete with for a job.

The worst part of this is that I have to upskill my technology/computer science/IT skills and just do not have the time or energy to do both due to several factors, but not for lack of trying.

Software technical writers used to mean someone who writes user manuals, figures out how a system or program/app works and creates/maintains other standard documents.

In the last 4 to 5 years, companies now want tech writers to know programming languages, network engineering, how APIs work, and how to create elaborate API reference guides that include sample code in a variety of languages.