Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
A Veteran looking for help
This is very difficult for me since I've never had to ask for help before.  Ever since I was discharged from the U.S. Army, I'm a Vietnam Era Veteran, I've always been able to provide for myself and pay the bills.  My wife and I have worked our entire adult lives and although we've never been wealthy, we've always lived comfortably and provided for our children.  Then our lives changed drastically when the company I worked for downsized and I lost my good paying job after almost two decades with the company.  I had a small pension and my wife still had her job.  Things were tight, but we were able to get by and pay the bills.  I looked for work, but because of my age no one would hire me.  Even the unemployment office told me that my age has a lot to do with me not being able to find work.  They told me that employers are not allowed to discriminate because of age, but unfortunately they do.
     Just when we thought things couldn't get worse, I had to have my forth and last joint replacement.  I'd already had both hips and one knee totally replaced and now I needed my other knee replaced.  The operation went smoothly and I started rehabilitation, but just six weeks after my knee replacement I had a heart attack.  After all was said and done, my doctors said I needed to go on disability, that I would never be able to work like I did my entire life.  So I applied for Social Security Disability and was approved with no problem.  This helped some, we were just able to pay the bills, then six months later we were hit with another setback.  My wife was diagnosed with throat cancer.  She had to undergo radiation treatments five days a week for seven weeks and it really took its toll on her.  She was finally able to return to work, but between the medical bills from my heart attack and my wife's throat cancer, we were in bad shape financially.  It doesn't end here.