Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
UK Physician Associate Funding
Hello everyone,

I am a Physician Associate Student in the UK. A physician associate is a relatively new healthcare role in the UK which aims to fill the demand for healthcare workers in the NHS. Physician Associates are able to do a lot of the tasks doctors are able to apart from prescribe (for now) and so are valuable in reducing the NHS workload also. 

I have always wanted to work in healthcare and work in a rewarding career where I am helping improve the quality of life of others. I was overjoyed to have received an offer for a Postgraduate Masters in Physician Associate Studies course and have an opportunity to do so. Having a degree in a Life Sciences is necessary to qualify for this 2 year Masters course and I started straight after finishing my undergraduate degree. 

Unfortunately the government have stopped funding the course costs. This has left a lot of us in a financially unstable position. 
The course costs £9250 a year; accommodation costs are £5000 a year + placement travel and food leaving us to find £28500+ to be able to afford the course. The only funding available through the government is £5000 a year which doesn’t even cover tuition. There was a career development loan which works out as £5000 over two years also (this has sadly been discontinued this year and I wonder how future years are going to fund their studies) but this still leaves £8,500 left to find. Some universities are able to offer students a £2,500 bursary in the first and second year of the course. This still leaves us with £3500 left to fund +travel costs and living costs.