Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help needed: new instrument for continuing musicaly
Dear Ladies and Gentlemen,

I want to thank you all for spending your time to read my post.

A little about myself: I'm 28 years old and living in the suburbs of Zurich, Switzerland. I work as a shoemaker in the city. My interests are found in literature, science, meteorology, art design, vintage clothing and music. For over 10 years I'm successfully dealing with vintage (mostly 1950's-60's) guitar parts and accessories like case candy, hardware and electric compounds.

Well, my biggest and most enjoyable hobby has been making music by strings. I started with acoustic guitar by 10, switched to electric bass with 14 for a school band act and finally ended up with playing electric guitar 'til my early 20's. After I finished high school and started to work I was dreaming about having an old instrument, with 21 I was lucky enough to afford me a 1967 Rickenbacker 330 that I found in Germany for a at the time in Europe rare and low price. Unfortunately, after a bad accident (where I first thought I would loose my right leg) I had to sell this guitar to pay my incoming bills and hospitality taxes. That was very hard for me because I had to let it go for much less than I had intended. However, since then and after about a year of recovery, I kept making music with my acoustic guitar (a birthday present for my 10th birthday). I got used to it pretty well and was able to compose a lot with it. But to be honest, I miss the feeling of playability you'll only have with an electric guitar. And since I'm obsessed with the sounds of artists like Captain Beefheart, The Stooges, MC5, The (Pontiac) Punks or Talking Heads for years, I'd like to play their compositions more properly.