Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Begging for Fraction of my Tuition
Lightbulb 
I am a second year college student just trying to make it work. I have two jobs (one need based and funded through my college) to pay my rent and my tuition fees. I barely survive on 30 hours a week at minimum wage, so when my student bills come in I have no way of finding that money. 

I moved from Arkansas to Washington state and cost of living is high. I never needed credit in Arkansas, but now that I support myself in college alone here I can’t get approved for loans. I have a credit card, but building good credit takes time. I moved here to get away from a bad life, but it’s hard to prove that I can do it when I am drowning in the weight of it all. I have depression and anxiety, but I don’t do drugs or drink. I do everything within my power to get myself through college. If I can get into my final year within my major I am almost guaranteed a job through a specific teaching program at my college. I know that if I could just make it though three more years I could be okay.

I work as much as I can, and I budget to the best of my ability. I eat box macaroni and minute rice with chicken and peppers. A bag on penne noodles and pasta sauce costs $2 at the dollar store and makes two to three meals. I write endless essays for those $1000 dollar scholarships, and I apply for any financial aid available. My tuition (out of state) is $11,000 every quarter, $33,000 every year, and I make almost all of it in academic scholarships and need based grants, only falling short a few thousand every quarter. My rent is $700 a month with all utilities included, but on minimum wage I can only make around $900 every month, leaving little for gas, food, insurance.